ALMA VALIENT
she/her

ARTIST OF: Kathleen Niemann

MIDWIFE OF: Mary Regalado

BIO

Well, I've been a storyteller and a writer all of my life. I am a historian by training and probably a teacher and an activist by vocation.

I am a mother and mothering has been very important to me in finding my artistry and in claiming it. I have been born in one country and jumped around the world through circumstances and choice all of my life. I don't really feel like I belong in any one place. I guess I'm more transnational rather than any nationality.

I'm fully bilingual in Spanish and English and I can play around with romance languages.

I am both high culture and low culture. I am amused by going through a carwash just as I am by sitting in nature with my crazy Gremlin dog just as I am by talking to my daughter and just as I am by reading a novel by Sally Rooney except I want to throttle Sally Rooney's neck out of envy, of course, not good envy just envy.

I am finishing a divorce process that has left me both brokenhearted and free and I have absolutely no idea what I'm going to do as I grow up which is ironic and a little sad because I'm 50 years old.

WHAT I MAKE